My DOs before I die


coffee_journal_mills1983-flickr_attrib_noderivsThere is a whole array of things that you are supposed to “do before you die” when you look around. Places to go, people to meet, ideas to think about, ect.ect. ect. I’m not so sure that I will be able to live up to every single thing that I read about, although I would love to! Simply put, there is just not enough time in the day. Life is so short, and the years seem to go by quicker every year! Ugh, I’m almost 21 years old and I feel like I was born yesterday! Good or bad? I’m not sure…

After the endless lists that I have gone through there are just a few key ones that I found extremely interesting, and that I hope to accomplish before I die 🙂 Maybe you’ll have some interest in them as well.

1. Learn a foreign language.

In our world today knowing a different language is extremely important. I am already fluent in Swedish, however I would love to know Spanish. I want to take it a step further though. Let’s attempt to not just get the know the language, but truly immerse yourself in another culture for an extended period of time. There is so much to learn in this world, and it can’t be taught by sitting in a classroom regurgitating what the instructor is telling you!

2. Volunteer your time

So many people are less fortunate than you, and what better way to spend your time than by helping them out. Everyone needs a little help sometimes, so be that shoulder to lean on. I feel that when I am feeling down, I turn to help others. This really brightens my day and makes me feel worth while! Do it! Someone will thank you…

3. Conquer your greatest fear

By conquering what frightens you most you prove to yourself that you can accomplish anything. You will then have the confidence to know that nothing can stand in your way and you are prepared for whatever life will throw at you. There is so much comfort in having confidence in yourself.

4. Keep a journal

I have noticed that I truly treasure all the times when I have kept a journal. It has opened my eyes to my feelings, my point in life, my perspectives and how they have changed, and my attitude toward those around me. This is something that I have learned and grown from. And not to forget, you can never remember all the great moments that seem to easily slip your mind. A smile on your face when you go back and read through it is worth it all!

5.  Travel, Travel, TRAVEL

Every list that I have seen about things to do before you die involves traveling. Although many of them are extremely extensive and expensive trips, you can always travel according to your budget. Make this a priority! There is no reason not to explore this amazing world that you are a part of. So many beautiful places to see and amazing people to meet!

GOOD LUCK… don’t go dying on me 🙂

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. mindy
    Oct 12, 2009 @ 15:08:25

    nice job. I met a women in her sixties who had a list like this. It had encouraged her to travel all over the world doing active things – I met her biking in the canyons of Utah. I am now depressed, my list is pretty mundane – like ready 60 blogs today.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

