Shake Your Tail Feathers


Can you imagine a day without the judgement of society? This is a question that I have recently began pondering. I have come to the conclusion that what we are interested in may simply be a product of our environment. We are attracted to the culture of life surrounding us. In turn, this displays the ways in which we interact with each other, society, and ourselves. Hence my entire “personal brand” of the Boulder lifestyle. I can’t deny that my life has changed in more ways than my fingers and toes can count since I placed myself in the “Boulder bubble”. I have taken on the healthy, down to earth, expressive lifestyle as the norm. It is without a doubt due to everything that surrounds my life. Although I know that all these ideals are how I want to live  my life, I wonder what it may be like if I lived in a different environment.

But is this truly who I am? Of course, but not completely. I am a product of my environment. I wonder what it would be like to not be influenced every moment of my life. To get down to the bare bones and discover what actually makes my clock tick. Many of us express our distinctiveness in many ways in life. However, we all act in regard to society and what is considered acceptable. Instead of living lives colored by quirky impulses, we seek out socially acceptable outlets for our peculiarities. We may not realize that we are editing ourselves in this way because our individual societal awareness is unintentionally influenced by the attitudes of the people we encounter each day. Over time, we have learned to suppress some of the most fun aspects of individuality. In order to rediscover and embrace these buried traits, we need only ask ourselves what we would do if we knew for certain that no one would judge our choices.

Visualizing a day without judgement can help you better understand an important part of who you are, but barely manifests itself in your existence. Maybe you feel like galloping through a park of crowded children singing at the top of your lungs, or possibly painting your car an electric hot pink, breaking out in dance, or dying your hair a ridiculous color. I know that I have noticed an urge to take up an exciting hobby such as fire dancing when I don’t think about how others will respond.

Regardless of the nature of your suppressed peculiarities, ask yourself what is really stopping you from making them a part of your life, and then resolve to incorporate at least one into your everyday existence.

Life as we know it is so short. Making the most of the years we are granted is a matter of being ourselves even though we know that we will inevitably encounter people who disapprove of our choices. When you shake your tail feathers like no one is watching, you will discover that there are many others who appreciate you because you are willing to let go of any inhibition. No one else in the world is like you… so get out there and celebrate your individuality!

Leave a Reply

